The Artistic Bend, Changing of Tides, Hair Salon (yes, really!) and YOU!

I wrote this while on a cruise… I can’t explain why, per se. But as I sat writing long-hand, my practice shall we call it, daily typically though while on vacation only when motivated, this is what came out. (Two hours later I was so mesmerized by the sea and my own b.s. that I had gotten in to a tif with my girl because I was, once again, lost in my world, my writer world, where the outer world moves and I stay put in mine.)  The trip ended quite badly actually as I was oblivious I was on a trip with anyone else buy my pen for a few hours.  Ah, we live and we learn.

So while seemingly harsh, and the start of one very unfortunate last-night-of-the-vacation fights, this is one of my most favorite little blips about writing in a while. Please don’t misread me or it, (I’m not really a hard ass!) And I don’t mean to rant, though that happens..and more in the spring when I bloom like the flowers. Only my bloom is lightening fast as i get manic and fly out of my seed. This is merely an echo of sentiment from the very first speech, from the very first author, who I heard; and how it resonated with me.

Only, this is my version. The Wendy one. I cut and pasted it from Good Reads which is where i origionally posted it. Then I took it down and thought ‘Oh my God, what ARE these people going to think of me, anyway?’  Well, I should be thinking more of ‘Oh my God, why couldn’t i SHUT-UP at the hair salon today?’ And it was a new one, one I liked. One I’m almost too embarassed to go back to. I think she mistook my depression for the wrong reaction of ‘I don’t like your work’….which is 100% the opposite. I lOVE what she did. And I think she took my manic babble as I am doing well, or cheery, and therefore should have been bubbly so I must not have liked the cut/highlights because I clearly wasn’t jumping up and down like the teen before me – with her mom no less.’  Geez. Or I could be way off and she got a text from her new hubby and had to run off. Or go to the bathroom. Either way, it DID NOT END WELL. I love my haircut though; it beats my frayed ends stabbing me from all angles.

Oh, right, my reason for this blog. (Sorry to bother….)

“The artistic bend is a sell-out. It’s all truth, or it’s no good. EIther write what’s in the heart, all of it, the good, the bad, the ugly, the uglier, the privat and even more private and it’s a book worth reading. Not willing to go there? Do yourself and the world a favor: Don’t write it until you’re ready to do so. Only then is it your truest artist being heard. And only then will the world want to hear what you have to say.”

I hope that you are nodding and not throwing food at the screen. Not ready to spill your guts? Wait, I say. At least until that person dies or you get over your pride. Screw the world anyway. WHo cares?

Rock it!  And let us read it. Warning: writing and producing a book is a Bitch! But if ink runs in your veins like blood, you’ll know it and have no other choice.  Wish me luck on sanity. I can already feel the changing of the tides. Gulp.

4 thoughts on “The Artistic Bend, Changing of Tides, Hair Salon (yes, really!) and YOU!

  1. I’m sooooooooooooo glad you wrote a post, Wendy!!!! Hey – where’s the photo of that slammin’ new haircut!?????

    I’m gulping along with you as far as feeling the changing of the tides & wondering what will happen. You mention that springtime is the time for mania to set in, while I am going in the opposite direction and I’m pulling out the stops to prevent it (I won’t even name “IT”- it reminds me of VOLDEMORT!!!!) and it’s the reason I haven’t written you lately just to say hi, even though I think of you daily.

    I even have a Wendy “Shrine” next to our bed, ha ha ha! I have your business cards and a copy of “Two Bipolar Chicks” there, ha ha!

    Anyway, I’m not sure where I’m going with this, but I will touch base. I’m sorry you had the fight at the end of the cruise – vacations bring that out, don’t they? We think they’ll be paradise and everything will go honky dory, and it doesn’t happen. On one vacation Craig broke his foot sliding down a staircase and I had to drive him in a snowstorm to the hospital. During our last vacation lAvi had a sledding accident and hurt herself so badly that she couldn’t walk for 3 days. I’ve been depressed during most of our vacations for the last decade!

    Oh well. I’ve been bummed about not working on my book but I’ve been writing other stuff for Stigmama and my blog and International Bipolar Foundation, so it’s not a total loss! I’ll get back to my draft because I know in my heart I must finish it. It’s not optional, ya know? I’ve even let go of the whole “It must be published by a REAL publisher” bullshit. I’ll self-pub it if I have to!

    sending you lots of love and big hugs in the meantime,
    Dy

    P.S. I’d like to state for the record that I LOVE LOVE LOVE this & I nodded my head so hard that my head almost fell off. No food was thrown – are you kidding me, girl? Any food around me goes down my yap hole!

    ““The artistic bend is a sell-out. It’s all truth, or it’s no good. EIther write what’s in the heart, all of it, the good, the bad, the ugly, the uglier, the private and even more private and it’s a book worth reading. Not willing to go there? Do yourself and the world a favor: Don’t write it until you’re ready to do so. Only then is it your truest artist being heard. And only then will the world want to hear what you have to say.”

    AWESOME POSSUM! 😉

  2. p.s. And in a totally shameless sell-promotion plug, here are my two latest blog posts:

    Thoughts about hamsters and the endless loop of negativity we can allow ourselves to perpetuate:

    https://proudlybipolar.wordpress.com/2015/02/12/late-nights-with-zoe-the-syrian-hamster/

    and:

    Do you want to see Tom Cruise in drag? (Doesn’t everyone?) Read this and go all the way to the end!

    https://proudlybipolar.wordpress.com/2015/02/05/the-most-dangerous-support-group-in-town/

  3. just read your comment, a wee bit late here, to the tune of a month, but thank you. Thank you for reading, thank you for your comment(s) and your cheerleading. Sometimes I feel like I am talking to outer space. It’s nice to have the validation that I’m not a martian, or talking to one. I’m also glad this resonated with you. My head can get so far up my ass that sometimes I forget I am a person & partner first, writer second. 🙂 Peace out.

Leave a Reply

